Healthy Pregnancy

As I have mentioned at the beginning of this blog, once I found out I’m pregnant I had to come up with a plan of transforming whatever you call ‘daily diet’ into a healthy-healthier one. It is well known that during pregnancy you must bring on your day to day table plenty of fruits and vegetables – and balance them together. Honestly, even though I am not a vegetarian, these two were part of my main focus when it came to health. So I got to a point where I let myself indulge and have anything I want as long as I keep up with my healthy plan and introduce more fruits and vegetables. Since, I must admit, is actually quite boring to eat every single fruit, several times a day, I came up with an idea to have them all in one go – EASY, TASTY, FRESH: I ‘cooked’ SMOOTHIES! So proud of the combinations I came out with! I have surprised myself and my capacity of hiding the taste of things I dislike when mixed with things I loved.

My first shake consisted of a strawberry and banana mix. I love bananas. I enjoyed the shake. Then I have advanced to more serious combinations and added more fruits and vegetables in my drink, so I got to:

  • strawberry, banana, green apples (12 strawberries, 1 or 2 sliced bananas, 2 apples and water);
  • green apples and broccoli (2 apples and one big broccoli that is raw, and water);
  • mango and grapefruit (one mango, one grapefruit and water – this is a must try! so delicious!!)
  • grapefruit, green apples, broccoli and spinach (1 grapefruit, 1 apple, 1 big broccoli – raw, 100 gr spinach – raw and water);
  • *same combination of the above + 7 strawberries;
  • grapefruit, green apples, broccoli, spinach, kale (1 grapefruit, 1 apple, 1 big broccoli – raw, 100 gr spinach – raw, 100 gr kale – raw and water)
  • grapefruit, kiwi, bananas, green apple, spinach, watermelon ( 1 of each fruit, 100 or 150 gr of raw spinach, 2 slices of watermelon and water)
  • 3 kiwi and 1 golden apple plus water;

At some point I started to slightly boil the spinach, kale and broccoli (for only 30 seconds -1 minute). If you boil/ cook them for too long you loose on their Vitamin C. As you can probably tell, with these I managed to include in my diet almost all the vitamins I need. The shakes are soooo tasty! πŸ™‚ When I add the greens (the vegetables) Ken calls it ‘your puke drink’ – it tastes nasty to him, but I promise you: they are r-e-a-l-l-y GOOD! Obviously you can get creative and try more combinations of fruits and vegetables. If the weather is really hot wherever you are, add a few ice cubes to it! Don’t add sugar, just enjoy the natural sugars of each item you add to your drink. MY BLENDER WAS MY BEST FRIEND πŸ™‚ ! Other things I add to my diet in order to keep this pregnancy healthy are:

  • Drinking milk every day (it may seem silly that I mention it but I never done that before, unless my mum would force it up my throat as a child); Starting with week 28 I reintroduced the cereals in the morning – not the chocolate flavoured ones;
  • Eating nuts and peanuts sometimes – high in vitamins, proteins and fibres;
  • Eating meat – honestly that’s mostly chicken (only breast – no fat for me please), sometimes fish, and beef when it comes to the popular beef dishes of a Chinese take away (I wish I was a steak fan);
  • Drinking 10/11 glasses of water a day – the amount of water you drink during pregnancy is extremely important. Toilet trips have massively increased.

I go for a healthy breakfast now! πŸ™‚ I eat one avocado with 2 tomatoes and white cheese almost every day. Sometimes I have the ordinary ham and cheese toasted sandwiches (I add butter, avocados and tomatoes to them) before I go to the park to walk the dogs. I also have in between of meals snacks (that is an evil attitude towards my slim body) consisting of butter and jam/ honey and butter. I hoped to switch to whole grain bread but I stayed with the white one. The whole grain bread is highly recommended though as it has plenty of fibres and vitamins and it prevents constipation – that if you eat bread. I have a golden apple most of the times I leave the house and I’m on the go. πŸ™‚ Golden apples are not too sweet, not too sour, and are now part of my every day diet and hopefully will remain forever. πŸ™‚

I know I did not go through the stage of birth yet to get to say what’s best to do to have a healthy pregnancy, healthy baby growing inside you, but I do believe that:

  • You should eat whatever you feel like eating! (I eat a lot of spicy food. I actually eat a lot of any food. I don’t care if I get fat. πŸ™‚ I prefer not to, obviously, but I’m not scared of it as I’m staying active and I trust my determination of getting the look and shape that I want afterwards – by exercising, not starving myself or getting additional help. πŸ™‚ )
  • You should not trust the vitamins or whatever meal supplements are out there! Your healthy life style is just a few minutes away from you, laying on a shelf, at your corner shop, being titled FRUIT or VEGETABLE. That’s the safest, most natural source of vitamins and nutrients. And this is not only good for you as a mum to be but also any other time in your life. I may eat kiwi because is a high source of vitamin C, however, did you know that it also helps in digestion and it helps for a beautiful skin – I bet we all want that, pregnant or not. Same goes for the other Fs and Vs – they come with so many benefits, they prevent all sorts of diseases, they improve your immune system, the level of energy, the growth of your hair! Just eat them! Do it at whatever age you are!
  • Be active! Walk, swim, do yoga or Pilates, or whatever other exercises your midwife/ healthcare provider says that are safe for you. Don’t be scared to move your body while you’re pregnant, as it actually helps you in many aspects – from boosting your mood/ stress relief to an easy labour (I haven’t experienced the last one yet but I just have a strong feeling that is true).
  • REST as much as you can. I have not became a morning person just yet, but I most certainly have the amount of sleep I need. I don’t take day naps, but is nothing wrong in doing it.
  • Don’t let anything negative approach you! (unfortunately I did, as I spend way too much time being on Social Media)
  • I don’t think I should even mention it as this is clear to everyone, but just in case – no alcohol. I didn’t have any at all, not even red wine (some girls have it, and as far as I know is not that harmful, but I prefer not to try it);
  • Stop smoking. You can do it. Just take it slowly – any cigarette you don’t smoke is good for your baby.

THINGS I WASN’T SUPPOSED TO EAT – SORRY BABY!!!

  • Goats cheese. At first I’ve done it without realising, second time I was all aware and I risked it. (there is a chance itΒ contains a bacteria called ‘listeria monocytogenes’ if this type of cheese isn’t cooked)
  • White grapes. Well now this is hard to say if I’ve done wrong. Some say is better to avoid it during the third trimester as is heating up your body. I had them as I love them and they are a great source of vitamins and Iron.
  • My chewing gum. I PANICKED but there is obviously NO reason to panic, the only issue here being the amount of artificial sweeteners that it contains.
  • 1/4 of my tooth! Yes, my tooth broke, and while I was out in the park, having an apple….. I realised I’m missing something. I now have to wait and go dentist to fix it. I know some say that dental x-rays are not that bad, but I would say, if there isn’t an emergency keep yourself from having it while you’re pregnant;
  • Raw eggs! That’s actually bad. As much as I avoided and over cooked my omelette, one day, as I was cooking meringues, I licked ALL the remaining (and a bit extra) of the mixture of egg whites and sugar (SO YUMMY) oups! πŸ™‚
  • Cream cheese – they say it isn’t safe…but I had it, several times. (dangerous to eat for the same reasons as goats cheese)

In terms of skin beauty, I stopped wearing perfume….on my skin. I spray it on my clothes instead. I have purchased 2 products to prevent stretch marks (pictures below). One is the Bio Oil that Ken got for me as he thinks this is the best one. If you look at what it contains, indeed, it seems to be the perfect choice. The other one is the body lotion from Palmers – Stretch Marks, Cocoa Butter Formula (recommended by everyone). I got it because I didn’t want to be soaked in oil all the time. I haven’t used any of them until week 12 of pregnancy. After that, honestly, I haven’t used them daily – but that’s just what I’ve done. If you really want them to work, the oil is recommended twice a day and the cream 3 times.

All these words come from a person who did not get to experience (until today, week 28) any sickness, who hasn’t been tired or had her feet swollen. However, do note that prior to pregnancy I was only 46 kg (1.69 cm) and did not have a healthy, balanced diet.

Lastly, don’t forget that we are all different. All the pregnancies are different. No one knows what you need better than you, and most probably your midwife/ healthcare provider. The closest person to you that knows what’s best for you IS YOU.Β β™₯

 

Leave a Reply

