Week 5

My baby’s the size of a sesame seed. Time to start getting prenatal care. (I thought)

I registered myself to a General Practice in Nottingham as I’ll soon be moving here and this is where I’ll give birth. Had my first appointment with a doctor who only seen me for a small conversation to update my records. She also arranged a midwife appointment for me and recommended I start taking ‘Pregnacare’ for 3 months claiming that they’re the best – she didn’t check if I actually need them or not. She didn’t make me have a second pregnancy test either. I thought it was going to be a more interesting appointment ๐Ÿ™‚ but it only ended up in leaving me excited for the next one instead, when I’ll see the midwife. However I do not have any concerns at all regarding this pregnancy so far. For now I just want things to happen faster and the sesame seed to turn into a watermelon.

My due date at this point is 1st October.

As soon as I left the GP, I bought the ‘Pregnacare Plus’. I am not a fan of vitamins in general or any type of medicine. Months ago I even stopped taking the famous Paracetamol (and the rest of his brothers and sisters) when it comes to pain relief or cold/flu. However, as my baby is involved I gave these tablets a go – mostly because they contain folic acid and Vitamin D (I can’t really say that the natural source of vitamin D is easy to find where I am). But then of course I have dressed up my table with all the nutrients I thought I need and that I could find in:

  • avocados – for the folic acid. Luckily I love them!
  • broccoli – great source of Iron (I don’t eat much red meat …not too much…once a year maybe. The reason – just because. No reason.
  • citrus fruits – had a thing for Raspberries at the beginning;
  • cheese – oh what a delight ๐Ÿ™‚ Too bad I can’t have blue cheese or goats cheese anymore ๐Ÿ˜ฆ (unless is cooked) I actually had those later too as I couldn’t helped it or I just did not realise until I finished eating it – oups. Cheese is actually what I love the most and there will a-l-w-a-y-s be in my fridge!
  • milk – started with milk and cereals first. Later I gave up on cereals and just had the milk.ย 
  • nuts;

And that’s my ‘food to be healthy’ list. I did not have all of these every single day. I did not stress too much about food or anything else, however I made sure my diet is quite balanced. I’m still going ‘Mc Donald’s’ – I actually like it now!!! I’m still eating take away food, sweets (a lot of them, daily) and still smoking. I’m not a coffee drinker anymore – since long before I got pregnant. I love the taste of it so decaff does its job all the time. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a great achievement that I removed caffeine from my life. I feel so much better without it and so much more energetic . Realised I don’t actually need it to stay awake and there s no such thing as addiction to it. You just get used being without it after a few days (of sleepy eyes).

I AM NOT CRAVING! AT ALL. ๐Ÿ™‚ And by that I mean I don’t experience ‘pregnancy cravings’. I crave food without being pregnant and I just know that now there’s no difference in the way I feel when I see or think of things I want to eat. I do not understand pregnancy cravings. I’m not sure if week 5 is one when you’re supposed to have cravings, however I did not experience them later either.

I’ve installed a mobile app called ‘Pregnancy+’ which is very useful, informative and fun. I think I got all my basic information from here. It’s free in the first few weeks, but trust me you become addicted to it, so you’ll pay the ยฃ2.99 (or so) after. It helps you keep track of all your appointments and development of your baby – such a great feeling to be notified that you advanced one more week and your baby is growing! Everything that I do or have and is related to the baby makes me enjoy things more and feel more special – like this app, the midwife trips or this blog.ย 

I’m not going out anymore. I go home every night after work and I travel to Nottingham in my days off – short train journeys.

My baby’s kicking right now as I type (Today marks the 26th week of the pregnancy). ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

